Server Side Swift: basic Client-Server communication example for iOS and Android

Suragch
7 min readJan 6, 2019

This is a repost of a Q&A pair I wrote on Stack Overflow.

Learning a new technology is a time consuming process. It was for Android with Java. And it was again for iOS with Swift. I’m now faced with the challenge of needing to provide a server backend for both Android and iOS apps. However, I would like to avoid the large time investment of learning a new language if possible. From what I have heard, the server code could be written in either Java or Swift, but Swift seems to be to be a much cleaner language so that is why I have chosen to go this route.

I want to make a proof-of-concept example where a server running Swift is able to communicate with an Android and iOS app. The apps send a request and receive a response.

The content below is my introduction into Server Side Swift.

A basic example involves three things:

  • A Linux server running Swift
  • An Android app
  • An iOS app

The focus of this answer is on the Swift server.

Linux server running Swift

These directions are based on unit one of the free Udacity course titled Server-Side Swift. I recommend taking the…

--

--